January 27 • call for entries
Can’t win if you don’t enter…

The nation’s oldest regional journalism contest is now open for its 73rd season.

What is this contest?

Since 1950, The Green Eyeshades have recognized the very best journalism in the southeastern United States – which now includes print, television, radio, and online.

Who can enter?

Journalists in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Who runs it?

Southerners from the Society of Professional Journalists host The Green Eyeshade contest. Every dollar stays in the South, where it’s spent on SPJ programs.